PARK DISTRICT OF HIGHLAND PARK BOARD OF PARK COMMISSIONERS MINUTES OF ANNUAL MEETING MAY 22, 2024

The meeting was called to order at 6:08 p.m. President Grossberg.

ROLL CALL

Present: Commissioner Bernstein, Commissioner Kaplan, Commissioner Ruttenberg,

President Grossberg

Absent: Vice President Freeman

Staff Present: Executive Director Romes; Deputy Director Carr; Director Smith; Director

Peters; Director Voss; Director Gogola; Director Baird; Assistant Director Reyes; Assistant Director Acevedo; General Manager Ochs; Manager Sassorossi;

Manager Good; Coordinator Hejnowski

Guest Speakers: None

Vice President Freeman joined the meeting at 6:09 p.m.

ELECTON OF OFFICERS

A. President

Executive Director Romes opened the floor for nominations for the office of President of the Board of Park Commissioners.

Commissioner Grossberg nominated Commissioner Bernstein for the office of President of the Board of Park Commissioners. A motion was made by Commissioner Grossberg and seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to close the floor for nominations for President of the Park Board.

Roll Call:

Aye: Commissioner Kaplan, Commissioner Ruttenberg, Commissioner Freeman,

Commissioner Grossberg

Nay: None

Absent: None

Abstain: Commissioner Bernstein

Motion carried.

A motion was made by Commissioner Ruttenberg and seconded by Commissioner Freeman to the elect Commissioner Bernstein to the office of President of the Board of Park Commissioners.

Annual Meeting Minutes May 24, 2023

Roll Call:

Aye: Commissioner Kaplan, Commissioner Ruttenberg, Commissioner Freeman,

Commissioner Grossberg

Nay: None

Absent: None

Abstain: Commissioner Bernstein

Motion carried.

B. Vice President

President Bernstein opened the floor for nominations for the office of Vice President of the Board of Park Commissioners.

Commissioner Kaplan nominated Commissioner Freeman for the office of Vice President of the Board of Park Commissioners. A motion was made by Commissioner Kaplan and seconded by Commissioner Ruttenberg to close the floor for nominations for Vice President of the Park Board.

Roll Call:

Aye: Commissioner Kaplan, Commissioner Ruttenberg, Commissioner Grossberg,

President Bernstein

Nay: None

Absent: None

Abstain: Commissioner Freeman

Motion carried.

A motion was made by Commissioner Grossberg and seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to re-elect Commissioner Freeman to the office of Vice President of the Board of Park Commissioners.

Roll Call:

Aye: Commissioner Kaplan, Commissioner Ruttenberg, Commissioner Grossberg,

President Bernstein

Nay: None

Absent: None

Abstain: Commissioner Freeman

Motion carried.

APPOINTMENTS

A. Secretary/Executive Director – Brian Romes

A motion was made by Commissioner Kaplan and seconded by Commissioner Grossberg and approved by a unanimous vote to appoint Brian Romes to the office of Secretary/Executive Director.

Motion carried.

B. Assistant Secretary – Roxanne Hejnowski

A motion was made by Commissioner Ruttenberg and seconded by Vice President Freeman and approved by a unanimous vote to appoint Roxanne Hejnowski as the Assistant Secretary acting under the general supervisor of the Secretary/Executive Director to the office of Assistant Secretary.

Motion carried.

C. Treasurer – Mari-Lynn Peters

A motion was made by Commissioner Grossberg and seconded by Vice President Freeman and approved by a unanimous vote to appoint Mari-Lynn Peters to the office of Treasurer.

Motion carried.

D. IMRF Authorized Agent – Laurel Hall

A motion was made by Commissioner Ruttenberg and seconded by Vice President Freeman and approved by a unanimous vote to appoint Laurel Hall as the IMRF Authorized Agent.

Motion carried.

E. Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Officers - Brian Romes, Laurel Hall, Roxanne Hejnowski

A motion was made by Commissioner Grossberg and seconded by Commissioner Kaplan and approved by a unanimous vote to appoint Brian Romes, Laurel Hall, and Roxanne Hejnowski as the Freedom of information Act (FOIA) Officers.

Motion carried.

F. Open Meetings Act (OMA) Officers - Brian Romes, Roxanne Hejnowski

A motion was made by Commissioner Grossberg and seconded by Commissioner Ruttenberg and approved by a unanimous vote to appoint Brian Romes and Roxanne Hejnowski as the Open Meetings Act (OMA) Officers.

Motion carried.

G. Americans With Disabilities Act (ADA) Coordinator - Brian Romes

A motion was made by Commissioner Grossberg and seconded by Commissioner Kaplan and approved by a unanimous vote to appoint Brian Romes as the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Coordinator.

Motion carried.

H. Auditor - Sikich, LLP

A motion was made by Commissioner Ruttenberg and seconded by Commissioner Grossberg and approved by a unanimous vote to appoint Sikich, LLP as the auditor for the Park District of Highland Park.

Motion carried.

I. Attorney – Ancel Glink

A motion was made by Commissioner Grossberg and seconded by Vice President Freeman and approved by a unanimous vote to appoint Ancel Glink as the attorney for the Park District of Highland Park.

Motion carried.

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

President Bernstein requested tabling this discussion for another meeting.

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Commissioner Ruttenberg and seconded by Commissioner Kaplan and approved by a unanimous vote. The Annual Meeting adjourned at 6:16p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Roxanne Hejnowski, Assistant Secretary

Rojanne Hejnowski